Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif

Databases

Database Name Description Tutorial Location Hits Contact






Access Emergency Medicine AccessEmergency Medicine is a complete online service that allows users to quickly search the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of emergency cases with videos. Tutorial Library 2,881 Contact
Access Medicine AccessMedicine® from McGraw-Hill is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 65 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.
Tutorial Library 57,783 Contact
Access Pediatrics AccessPediatrics from McGraw-Hill is an integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Organized around a set of Core Topics developed by an advisory board of renowned pediatricians, AccessPediatrics meets the needs of medical students, pediatric residents, general practitioners, and pediatric specialists.
no tutorial available Library 13,434 Contact
Access Surgery AccessSurgeryTM from McGraw-Hill is an integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries from trusted sources. Organized around the accepted ACGME's (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) Core Curriculum, AccessSurgery delivers content in context.
Tutorial Library 13,479 Contact
American Psychiatric Association (APA) The American Psychological Association is the largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States. no tutorial available Library 2,443 Contact
Clinical Evidence Clinical Evidence comprises a database of high-quality, rigorously developed systematic overviews assessing the benefits and harms of treatments, and a suite of EBM resources and training materials.
Library
Contact
EBSCOHost Research EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Tutorial Library
Contact
Embase Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Tutorial Library
Contact
FirstConsult First Consult is an authoritative evidence-based and continuously updated clinical information resource for health care professionals. Designed for use at point of care, it provides instant, user-friendly access to the latest information on evaluation, diagnosis, clinical management, prognosis, and prevention. Tutorial Library
Contact
FirstSearch OCLC FirstSearch, connects you to information in a wide range of subjects in 5 databases (ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, WorldCat, WorldCatDissertations)
Library
Contact
Global Health CAB Direct (Global Health) is CABI's electronic platform delivering access to over 9 million abstracts across the applied life sciences. Coverage includes our leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health, and databases from our Internet Resources and Abstract Journals. Tutorial Library Webpage
Contact
IndexCat IndexCat is the National Library of Medicine's user interface that provides access to the following collections - the digitized version of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office, the Electronic Thorndike and Kibre (eTK for medieval Latin texts), and the Electronic Voigts and Kurtz (eVK2 for medieval English texts). In these instructions, the use of 'Index-Catalogue' refers to the printed work in five series. Tutorial Library Webpage
Contact
Infoshare Infoshare Community Information Service is a sophisticated tool that lets planners, community activists, teachers, students, researchers, and ordinary citizens view and analyze a vast array of community and regional data. Tutorial Library Webpage
Contact
JAMAevidence JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. Tutorial Library Webpage
Contact
LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis® is a leading global provider of content-enabled workflow solutions designed specifically for professionals in the legal, risk management, corporate, government, law enforcement, accounting, and academic markets. Tutorial Library Webpage
Contact
MD Consult MD Consult offers the most comprehensive information available in one convenient online resource. With instant access to full-text articles from over 80 medical journals and Clinics, 50 leading medical references across a wide range of specialties, clinically relevant drug information, and over 15,000 patient handouts.
Library 52,172 Contact
OVID E-Books Ovid offers the medical, scientific, and academic communities customizable solutions of high-quality core and niche content fully integrated with their institutional holdings. More than 4,500 ebooks, including  60 book collections, including archive collections of critical historical material, publisher collections, and topical collections
Library 655 Contact
OVID E-Journals Ovid offers the medical, scientific, and academic communities customizable solutions of high-quality core and niche content fully integrated with their institutional holdings. Over 1,200 premium, peer-reviewed journals- with no embargoes! Plus 50 journal collections, including archive collections and packages based on publisher or subject
Library 8,314 Contact
PsychiatryOnline PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-IV-TR® the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing. Tutorial Library 452 Contact
Science Direct (SD) Find articles from our catalog of more than 2,500 journals and 11,000 books Tutorial Library 35,448 Contact
STAT!Ref STAT!Ref is an online library of electronic resources for medical students and professionals. Tutorial Library 47,350 Contact
The Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is high-quality evidence for health care decision making Tutorial Library 405 Contact
UpToDate UpToDate® is an evidence-based knowledge system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. All UpToDate content is written and edited by a global community of 5,100 physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Tutorial Library 91,694 Contact
Web of Knowledge Thomson Reuters Web of KnowledgeSM is a research platform that gives you access to objective content and powerful tools to search, track, measure and collaborate in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. This intelligent research platform provides access to the world's leading citation databases, including powerful cited reference searching, the Analyze Tool, and over 100 years of comprehensive backfile and citation data. Tutorial Library 3,434 Contact